Nevada State Parks calls the Marlette Flume Trail “famous and historic” and gives its length as 4.4 miles. It starts from Spooner Lake in Lake Tahoe Nevada State Park; the state page does not give bike rules, shuttle details or a season for the Flume itself.
Checked November 3, 2026. Dates, prices and hours change; the official page wins.
- 4.4 miMarlette Flume Trail
- $10 / $15vehicle day use, Nevada / non-Nevada
- $2bike-in
- 5 mito Marlette Lake via North Canyon Road
Trail Facts
- Length4.4 miles for the Marlette Flume Trail, reached from the south via North Canyon or from the north via the steeper Tunnel Creek Road (Nevada State Parks).
- Marlette LakeAbout 5 miles via North Canyon Road. Spooner Lake is surrounded by a flat 2-mile trail; the page does not call it a loop.
- FeesDay use $10 per vehicle, $15 for non-Nevada vehicles; bike-in $2 per bike. A Flume-specific fee is not stated.
- Park hoursOpen sunrise to sunset, 365 days. Dogs on a leash of no more than 6 feet, park-wide.
- BikesThe Tahoe Rim Trail is closed to bikes between Hobart Road and Spooner Summit, and the segment north of the park is open to bikes on even days only (state page). Rules for the Flume Trail itself: not stated.
- Difficulty, surface, elevation, season, shuttleNot stated on the page we read: all of these; private rental and shuttle companies were not read
The park also holds 13 miles of the Tahoe Rim Trail. For a nearby beach and the Tahoe East Shore Trail see Sand Harbor and the East Shore Trail. In winter the area is a Nordic ski area: Spooner Lake.
On The Map
What We Could Not Confirm
These items were not read on an official page when we checked, so we do not state them as fact. Who can confirm each one is named.
- Bike rules, shuttle service, season and difficulty for the Flume Trail itself (Nevada State Parks or a permitted operator would confirm).
More to Explore
Frequently Asked Questions
How long is the Flume Trail?
Nevada State Parks gives 4.4 miles for the Marlette Flume Trail.
Is there a shuttle?
The state page does not say. Ask a permitted operator or the park.
Sources
Cite this page: It’s Reno editorial team, “Marlette Flume Trail,” itsreno.com, checked November 3, 2026.
Skip to Content